Review – Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara

DSC01918

DSC01921

DSC01923

In my May favourites post, I included the Too Faced Better than Sex mascara (strange name for a mascara right?) and I mentioned that I would be posting a review of it soon. Apparently this is one of the best selling mascaras in the Mecca Maxima stores here in Australia. It retails for $29 AUD and I think that’s a pretty decent price considering it is more of a high end product.

With the first use I was pleasantly surprised at how much volume and length it added to my lashes in just one coat. I think two coats are enough to achieve a noticeable difference; any more coats and I would think it would make my lashes extremely clumpy because the formula is on the thicker side. The colour is definitely a true black which is also a plus. What makes this mascara so unique is the shape of the brush; the hourglass shape allows the mascara to coat and separate each and every lash whilst still achieving volume and length.

Here are some pictures of how my lashes look with two coats of mascara, (sorry they aren’t the best photos – by the time I get home it’s already dark so I have to resort to using flash!). I think this is pretty impressive; I can hardly achieve this with three coats with some other mascara’s I have tried. My lashes are naturally quite curly so I think it did a good job of curling my lashes further. I love the dramatic effect it gives.

DSC01895

DSC01899

I think the downside of this product is the fact that the wand collects a lot of excess product. This can be tricky especially when avoiding any clumping. As you can see in the photos my lashes do look a little clumpy but I don’t mind it as long as it isn’t extremely clumpy.  It also tends to flake a little throughout the day which annoys me but I think the pros really outweigh the cons in this case. I have definitely been reaching for this mascara a whole lot since I purchased it. It gives a wow factor to the lashes and with just one coat makes lashes noticeably longer and thicker. I would definitely repurchase this again. I’m not usually the type to splurge a lot on mascaras but I’m really impressed!

Sorry if the photos aren’t the best quality. I’m currently on the hunt for a better camera so if any of you could recommend a good camera for blogging please let me know!

14 thoughts on “Review – Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara

  1. I’ve been hearing such a lot of mixed reviews on this! A lot of people seem to love it but others really dislike it. Pity about the clumping – hate that! I’m sure the name helped a lot with sales! lol

  2. Thanks for including the close up shots, it really helps to see how the product actually performs. I’m always hearing about this mascara, but never actually considered giving it a go until your posts. Those close-up photos helped convince me.

    Z · JPOTTER

  3. Have you heard of this 3D fiber mascara from Younique? I’m totally in love! The fibers are 100% black green tea fibers and you use it with their gel. It is $29 (38 in Australia), but it gives you the volume and length plus it has totally eliminated my need for a curler (no joke check out my blog and video here: https://gratefulnerd.wordpress.com/2015/05/14/sayonara-eyelash-curler/). Plus it lasts you 3+ months and comes with a bitchin case! https://www.youniqueproducts.com/LaSarah/products/view/US-1017-00#.VVqgv_lViko No smudging and no clumping (as long as you don’t use any mascara with it)! This stuff is awesome (and if it doesn’t work out you can get a full refund no questions if returned within 14 days, 80% refund after 15-30 days)!

Leave a Reply

