January 2015 Favourites

DSC01681

Hi everyone! This is my first time ever doing a monthly favourites post. I think it’s going to be a little tricky for me at first because my ‘favourites’ don’t always change monthly. But we shall see how it goes – I think I am really going to enjoy this!

Philosophy Purity Made Simple One-Step Cleanser:
I have been loving this product not just through all of January but for quite a few months now. It is extremely gentle yet removes all of my makeup easily. I love the creamy consistency of this cleanser and the fact that it doesn’t irritate my skin nor sting my eyes. My skin always feels really fresh after I use this.

Rimmel Stay Matte Long Lasting Pressed Powder (001 Translucent):
Not gonna lie, when I first purchased this last year I initially thought it made me look a little ashy but I think it was the because of certain foundations that I used.  This product has really grown on me and has now become my holy grail in terms of setting my foundation and under eye concealer. It is so affordable and keeps my face matte without looking cakey. Would highly recommend!

Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles Concealer (Light):
This concealer is absolutely amazing! I love the consistency of this concealer – it is of a creamy texture and blends quite well under the eyes without looking cakey. I use this concealer as more of a highlight under my eyes. I really want to try the Medium shade as an actual under eye concealer so that is next on my list! This lasts a pretty long time on me and does not crease! I do wish they had a better colour selection though.

CoverGirl LashBlast Volume Mascara (Very Black):
I know this mascara has been around for a very long time. When I first tried this recently, one thought came to my mind – have I been hiding under a rock? This has instantly become one of my favourite mascaras to use. It adds a great deal of volume to my lashes while also defining and separating them without looking clumpy at all and also gives me great length.  I will be doing a full review of this mascara soon because I believe it is that good that it deserves its own blog post! I have heard some people have compared this to the Benefit They’re Real Mascara – I have tried both and honestly, for me – this mascara works a lot better.

Too Faced Shadow Insurance Anti Crease Eye Shadow Primer:
After hearing rave reviews from beauty gurus all over the world about this eye shadow primer I finally decided to try it – and I love it! A little goes a really long way and no matter what type of eye shadow I wear – it lasts all day/night when I wear this primer and it really intensifies the eye shadow colour. The consistency is quite oily when you first apply it but it dries in no time to a beautiful canvas! This is definitely the best eye shadow primer I have used till date.

Revlon Colourburst Matte Lip Balm (205- Elusive):
I am in love with this colour! I have been wearing it pretty much every day recently. It is a beautiful, warm toned pink which is great for every day wear and goes with most make up looks. It sets to a semi-matte finish but it is not drying. It is very creamy, although it doesn’t last that long – 4 hours max which I think is still pretty good for drugstore.

21 thoughts on “January 2015 Favourites

  1. Oooh – I need a new concealer so will keep a lookout for the Maybelline one.
    I’ve used Philosophy in the past too! I would read the bottle over and over again. So beautifully written and dreamy. I didn’t go back to Philosophy though..It was good, but I felt it didn’t give me enough of a deep clean feel.

    • You should definitely check it out! I bought mine on sale because I find that drugstore products can be overpriced here in Auatralia! I know what you mean about it not being as deep cleansing – it is very lightweight!

  2. The philosophy cleanser is amazing. It’s gentle enough for my sensitive and dry skin. I ran out a few months ago, your post reminded me of how much I loved it. Definitely need to head out and grab another one.

  3. I have so many of these things, I am currently loving the revlon matte balm in sultry, its such a beautiful colour ❤ Loved this post, keep up the good work 😀

  4. Pingback: April favourites and updates | Girl 'bout town

Leave a Reply

