NARS Sheer Glow Foundation: Review

DSC01530

DSC01524

I have three words for this foundation – MY HOLY GRAIL! This foundation has been raved about for the longest time in the beauty world. I only just purchased it a few months back. I honestly regret not purchasing this earlier because within these last few months it has became my favourite foundation. I never thought I would actually have a ‘favourite foundation’ because for years now I had a hard time finding a foundation that I actually loved. Most of the products I tried in the past were either too sheer, too cakey, would oxidize on me or would cling to my dry patches; this foundation does none of that, even though it’s named ‘sheer glow’.

The NARS Sheer Glow is the perfect foundation if you’re looking for something that is going to give your skin a beautiful glow. The finish of this foundation is absolutely flawless and gives the most healthy, luminous glow to your skin. Even though it is called ‘sheer’ glow, it is easily medium coverage which is buildable to a fuller coverage without looking cakey, so a win, win situation there! The colour range is excellent; they have twenty shades which is pretty awesome. I’m in the shade Barcelona and it is the perfect colour match for me.

I pretty much wear it every day now because not only does it make your skin look radiant, your skin still feels like skin! It is so comfortable to wear. My skin is prone to getting extremely dry patches from time to time so moisturizing well before applying ANY foundation is a must for me and this foundation has never accentuated my dry patches. The formulation is very liquidy (is that even a word?) so it is very easy to blend. Due to the fact that it doesn’t contain any SPF, it photographs beautifully without giving any nasty flashback so it is perfect for special occasions. It lasts a pretty long time on me with a primer and I don’t usually like or have to touch it up too much throughout the day but that is probably because I have dry skin.

For me personally, this foundation applies best with my damp Real Techniques Complexion Sponge or my Real Techniques Expert Face Brush. It applies with little effort and gives a very flawless finish. It was recommended that I use my fingers to apply it but I wasn’t the biggest fan of that. It retails for $59 here in Australia from Mecca, which is definitely on the pricey side but in my opinion it is worth every penny and I wouldn’t hesitate in purchasing it again, and again!

DSC01531

I don't know if you can tell by this photo or not, but it blends BEAUTIFULLY!

I don’t know if you can tell by this photo or not, but it blends BEAUTIFULLY!

The only bad thing I can say about this foundation is that it doesn’t originally come with a pump; you have to buy it separately. Initially I wasted a lot of product because of this due to not using a pump so I would highly recommend you purchase one with it.

If you are interested in how this foundation looks/photographs on me then I wore this in my Spring/Summer face of the day post, you can check out the photo here to see how it looks with flash photography.

I could keep going on and on about my love for this foundation but I’ll stop now before I bore you all. To sum up, I would highly recommend this product if you are somebody who is looking for a medium buildable foundation with a luminous glow. I have tried my fair share of foundations over the years but have never come across anything quite like this. I know in Australia it is not the most affordable foundation but if you are looking for something great and don’t mind splurging a little then definitely give this a try. What is your favourite foundation? Have you tried Sheer Glow? What are your thoughts? Let me know in the comments below!

6 thoughts on “NARS Sheer Glow Foundation: Review

  1. I have heard so much about this foundation! It’s a pity that NARS isn’t available in South African shops. I would definitely try it if it was. I also love how the colours are named after places. 😀 This is a wonderful review, Sita! 🙂

    • It is a lovely foundation! I did not know it was not available there 😦 I hope they start stocking NARS there! You would definitely love it 🙂 thank you for reading Nadine 🙂 xx

      • Things are a little slow to come here since many companies pulled out long ago due to our political policies in the apartheid years. We are still a new democracy so it takes patience to wait for companies to bring their products here. 🙂
        We also don’t have Urban Decay, for example.
        It’s only a pleasure, Sita! I love your blog. 😀

      • Aww we don’t get Urban Decay here in Australia either! Lets hope they start stocking these wonderful brands for us makeup lovers 😀 Likewise, I love reading your blog posts 🙂 xx

  2. Such a struggle to find the perfect foundation!
    I started using Mac Face and Body a few months ago and am very happy with. It sounds very similar to Nars Sheer Glow – the way you described it as no SPF, able to gradually build up etc..

Leave a Reply

