Australis Velour Lips Matte Lip Cream – Review.

DSC01396

DSC01385

Hi lovelies! Today I thought I’d do a little review of the amazing Australis Velour Lips Matte Lip Creams. I know in a previous post I had stated that these didn’t work for me – and boy how wrong I was! I bought NY-CEE last year and while I loved the colour pay off, I thought it accentuated the dryness in my lips. Back then I think they had about five or so colours in this range (I could be wrong though). Well recently, they came out with some more beautiful colours, I think they have about ten now; so I decided to pick one up and try them out again, and I’m so glad I did.

I can honestly say I was SO wrong about these lip creams. I’ve figured out a way to make them work – I just apply a LOT of lip balm prior to applying them so now I literally have no problems with flakiness. While they are still a little drying, I think that comes with most lip creams – it just depends how comfortable you are with it. I only have two shades at the moment, NY-CEE and MI-A-MEE. How cute are the names!? I’m definitely going to be purchasing more of these because of the good quality and the super affordable price, at $9.95 AUD it’s definitely a steal. I really love Australis as a brand and the products they have to offer. I find that the other drugstore brands in Australia are really pricey but Australis offers good quality products for a great price. Now on to the review…

DSC01401

Left: NY-CEE. Right: MI-A-MEE

NY-CEE

DSC01395

I remember it took me so long to get my hands on this particular colour because it was always sold out. I guess it goes to show how amazing the colour of this is – a beautiful crimson red. It is definitely blue based so it’s excellent for making those pearly whites look even whiter! I think this is the most amazing red I own and it suits my skin colour quite well. I can see it working a range of different skin tones – it really is the perfect pin up red.

Here’s a little swatch on my lips.

2014-01-26-23-51-34_deco-2

This was back when I didn’t wear any lip balm underneath, so that’s probably why the lines on my lips are more visible.

MI-A-MEE

DSC01394

This colour came out recently with a range of other beautiful colours.  It is the most beautiful, watermelon pinkish/coral tone which I have been wearing a lot this spring.

2014-09-17-16-23-13_deco-1

They come with a typical doe foot applicator which makes application quite easy. They do have a bit of a scent; I would say it reminds me of grape flavored bubblegum so I’m not really complaining! These lip creams last a long time on my lips. I definitely get a good 5-6 hours of these on my lips with eating and drinking. The colour is VERY opaque on these lip creams and they apply very smoothly and dry to a very matte finish. I have to say that I really regret not buying more of these, which I definitely will get around to doing in the near future.

To sum up these are amazing and they offer a range of different colours, some very bright and some more toned down so it really caters to your personal preference. I’m not going to lie, they can get a little uncomfortable if you have super dry lips but I think a good lip balm underneath can fix that. I have heard that you can also mix the colours – what a bonus! Have you tried any of the Australis Velour Lip Creams? What did you think of them? Thanks for reading! 🙂 x

11 thoughts on “Australis Velour Lips Matte Lip Cream – Review.

  1. I love the Velour Lips range but they’re always out of the colours I want!! They look beautiful on your gorgeous lips. Wish I had more than little lines to show off lipstick too lol. xoxo 🙂

Leave a Reply

