Four Amazing Benefits of Coconut Oil!

DSC01287

Today’s post is going to be about coconut oil which has so many amazing benefits! Coconut oil has been a staple in the homes of many different cultures. If you’re Indian I’m sure you have heard your mum or relatives of yours speak about coconut oil and its benefits before. Even though I am Indian, I never thought to use coconut oil until about a year ago and I’ve never looked back since! It has quickly become my holy grail because it has so many benefits and uses. Here are four uses of coconut oil (I’m sure there are so many more) that I have come across.

DSC01288

Make sure the coconut oil you purchase and use is organic, unrefined coconut oil because it means it is in its purest form. Coconut oil at room temperature is usually waxy and solid. Once you put it on your fingers it melts but most of the time I like to just stick it in the microwave for about 15 seconds. Anyhow, here are my five benefits of coconut oil!

  1. Makeup Remover

Honestly, I don’t know why I ever bothered to attempt to remove my makeup with makeup wipes. I found that EVERY single type of makeup wipe that I used irritated my skin and made it sting so badly! (Sensitive skin problems!). One day when I was swatching some lip products on my arm I then tried to remove it with a makeup wipe, nope, didn’t remove. I tried to wash it with a makeup removing cleanser, nope, still there. I then tried coconut oil and it literally came off so easily! So now, I almost always use coconut oil to remove my makeup. I just take a little bit on a cotton pad and rub it on my face and over my eyelids and all the makeup comes right off! It’s super gentle and doesn’t irritate my eyes at all. It does feel quite oily but I always cleanse my face afterwards anyways.

  1. Moisturizer

I tend to get quite dry and flaky especially in my t-zone area and I’ve tried so many different moisturizers. Once again, because I have sensitive skin, I have a hard time finding a good moisturizer for my skin. A while ago, when I was yet again on another hunt for a moisturizer I decided to try coconut oil instead of wasting money on more skin care products only to be disappointed again. I only use it before bed though, because otherwise it does get a little too oily for my preference. It has worked so well on my skin so far, no irritation or reactions! I find that when I use it before bed, the next day when I wake up my skin just feels so soft looks super bright! If you have really oily, acne prone skin I’m not sure how well this will work, maybe apply sparingly and see how you go from there.

  1. Reducing under eye darkness

A while ago I noticed my eye bags were crazy! They had become really dark. I blame that on not getting enough sleep and stress. I mean I’ve always had a little darkness which I don’t mind, but this was like craaazzzy! So I decided to apply coconut oil under my eyes every night before bed and it really has been helping in reducing the darkness and just brightening it up. I’ll have to report back but so far I have loved the results.

  1. Prevents hair loss, dandruff, promotes growth

I remember when I was a teenager and I would tell people that I oil my hair and they would look at me like I was from another planet haha! But I think now a lot of people are becoming more and more open to trying new things. I used to use a range of different store bought oils from the Indian stores but ever since switching to coconut oil I don’t think anything else works as well. First of all, coconut oil works wonders to condition and rejuvenate your hair. Coconut oil is highly nourishing due to the fatty acids (which are good for you!) which thoroughly penetrates the hair and leaves it feeling super soft and overall it just makes your hair so healthy and so shiny! I usually apply it to my hair once a week. I prefer to do it before bed so I can leave it in overnight, and then wash it out the next day. When you do wash it out you have to be quite thorough in getting the oil out because otherwise it can get quite oily if not washed out properly. It works wonders especially for dry hair!

I really think coconut oil has helped in preventing hair loss for and stimulating hair growth for me. My hair is quite fine but I went through a period where my hair was so thin and just looked lifeless.  Ever since I started applying coconut oil my hair does not fall out anywhere near as much as it used to. It also has helped my hair grow super fast! I got my haircut towards the end of November last year, and it was quite short for me, for other people it seemed like it was still long but I’ve just always preferred longer hair on me. Anyways, since then I feel like my hair has grown so fast! Here’s a photo of my hair length now. Well not really now, but just before I got it cut. (I got my haircut today! It’s now a lot shorter than this pic). Just thought I’d add it to show the length.

bloggg

I’m just rambling now…. Basically what I wanted to say through this post is that you really need to try coconut oil! It has so many different uses. It’s affordable and you can use it for so many different things instead of paying so much for a bunch of different products. I believe I got mine for $19.95 from a health food store and it has lasted me almost a year now and I still have some left! Some people I know are allergic to coconut oil so please be careful and make sure you’re not allergic!

Let me know if you’ve tried coconut oil and if you know of any other great benefits xx

4 thoughts on “Four Amazing Benefits of Coconut Oil!

  1. Love you hair hun, it looks gorgeous!! I am addicted to coconut oil!! (Actually I’m addicted to coconuts in general lol). I use it as an acne treatment and for stretch marks as well 🙂 xoxo

Leave a Reply

